The 33rd Annual Orange Rose Contest

The Orange Rose Contest Finalists will be announced August 13, 2016!

The Orange Rose Contest Finalists will be announced at the Orange County Chapter RWA meeting in Brea, CA. The usual chapter meeting in July has been canceled. We hope to see you at the RWA Annual Conference in San Diego July 13-17.

The Orange Rose Contest is in its 33rd year! This storied contest has in its roster many finalists who are now published, such as Rita Winners Laura Drake and Tessa Dare and New York Times best-selling authors Allison Brennan, Judy Duarte, Susan Squires and Debra Holland to name just a few. Why has the ORC enjoyed this level of success? It’s in large part due to the exceptional judges, both first round published author and final editor/agent judges, and our comprehensive score sheets.

Our top prize, the coveted Charlotte Award, is given in honor of long-time OCC member Charlotte Lobb, who passed away in 2013. Charlotte was a tireless volunteer and supporter of this chapter and its members, as well as a multi-published author of over 60 books. She was known for her generosity of spirit and great sense of humor. It is fitting that we present this top award to an unpublished writer in honor of Charlotte’s mentorship and encouragement of fledgling writers. One more thing, Charlotte herself was an Orange Rose finalist back in the day.

The Orange Rose Contest is open to all Romance Writers of America® members. If you would like to enter and are not a member please join RWA National and a local chapter such as the Orange County Chapter.

2016 Orange Rose Contest Committee

You may contact the committee by using the contact form found on the contact tab. You may also email


Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on The 33rd Annual Orange Rose Contest